How can human life be so cheap?

What started as a bright, rainless day ended a horrific bloody one. I had just finished my shopping when I heard gunshots. Shocking sounds on a normally quiet  and safe shopping  mall. Suddenly the air was pierced with police sirens. Everyone was drawn to the middle of things. I made my way to the Toy shop which was now cordoned off to the public.

I could see a lot  policemen with their armoured vests on and holding their machines guns like their lives depended on them. A woman was  screaming at the top of her voice and a young man was trying to restrain her. By now there was now a crowd of about 100 people  and the whole atmosphere was dead quiet and still. All the eyes were glued inside the Toy shop. Everyone was waiting for the good news from the paramedics who had gone inside.

When one of the paramedics came out he shook his head and bystanders shouted in grief, shocked to their bones me included. We knew. Another great loss.

In Cold Blood

A young and innocent life had been taken away cheaply. The thugs went into the shop and demanded money. I do not have the fine details but one thing I know is that they shot him dead in the head and he expired on the scene.

Horrific, blood cuddling. The thugs six of them ran away and they are still unaccounted for.

Imagine you leave your home and you go to work and that’s the end of you. Why didn’t they take the money and leave him alone?. Everyone was asking.

Is that young man’s life worth a bullet.

A big loss to his family.

A traumatic experience for the shoppers.

Shattering!  I am shattered.

I can hear my intestines knotting inside.

I do hope the murderers would be caught and get their just deserts BUT the young man is not going to come back.

Rest in peace young man.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hoosain
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 21:57:36

    The young man is a neighbour of mine. His name is Zubair Amanjee. He leaves behind a grieving family, a community in shock and a young wife.

    Reply

    • gotojamesonblog
      Jan 29, 2011 @ 22:03:51

      My deepest sympathies Hoosain. I am shocked too. I have no words to express it. I hope there was a way of stopping this unnecessary loss of life. Hopefully the thugs will be brought to book. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

  2. Disinformed
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 20:34:42

    Why do you sensationalise such a tragic event?
    So many versions of the truth, not even the print media has got it right.
    He was shot outside the toy store and not in the head …

    Reply

  3. gotojamesonblog
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 20:44:26

    Thanks for setting the record straight Disniformed.

    Reply

Leave a comment