Fading away like a shadow


I used to regard some friendships highly but to be disappointed along the way when the relationship becomes a one way street. You have to be there for them. You have to sacrifice for them in any form but when you really need them to be there for you all you get is nothing in return. Initially I would feel used but I have come to accept the inevitable and to be “selfish” too. Some people need to lean on you and once they get the support they move on. History is made. It is not that the help or the support I had rendered was conditional but it would be good to give back in return even to say the magical words Thank you.

As friends grow older, marry, go into different professions and to different places sometimes the friendships fade away like shadows leaving behind scars which will soon heal. Though once disappointed but I can say I at least played my good part.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hemlock1981
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 12:12:25

    Indeed. You said it right. Once you can get over the disappointment, you can see the positive part you played in their lives.

    Reply

    • gotojamesonblog
      Apr 10, 2011 @ 12:22:14

      Yes. Knowing that you were selfless gives you the good feeling but it becomes difficult to help others for you may feel the same thing will happen again, despite the fact that people are different. Once beaten twice shy thus closing the doors for genuine friendships.

      Reply

  2. maidinengland1989
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 15:17:08

    This is very true.
    I had a really close friend in uni and I was always there for her and sometimes she was there for me. However one day I realised she didn’t see me anymore. I was just someone to talk at. It came to a point where I wasn’t even that, she would ignore me and not even acknowledge me. We worked with each other at least twice a week and every shift she wouldn’t say no more than two words to me. I got angrier and angrier about it but couldnt bring myself confront her. One day she remembered to say hello and I broke my silence. ‘Oh so you are speaking to me then’ I pointed out how she had been behaving and she gave me a bunch of empty excuses and apoligised for upsetting me . She said she would make more of an effort from then on. That was the last time I spoke to her… over a year ago.
    Its sad cause we used to be so close and now I can’t think about happy memories or look at photos of her without feeling angry. Its not like we drifted apart…she just decided not to be my friend anymore and I’ll never know why.

    Reply

    • gotojamesonblog
      Apr 10, 2011 @ 16:34:46

      Yes maidinengland1989. Sometimes you ask yourself whether you contributed to the fading away? When the answer is No thats when you feel that someone was using you. The problem is when the relationship ends abruptly without warning. But it is better that it ends rather than stay in a friendship that is meaningless. Some friends want to dominate and when you refuse to see their point or otherwise they fade away like a shadow. Thanks for stopping by maidinengland. Probably its good riddance.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

