The Longest Bridal Veil in the World

My sister in-law had always told us to visit a place that has always lifted her in many ways. The place is in the eastern highlands of Zimbabwe close to the border with Mocambique in an area called Chimanimani. The area is always raining and is home to a tropical forest type of weather with beautiful flora and fauna. It’s at high altitude and beautiful waterfalls have been carved and they resemble many forms. One needs to use his or her imagination to appreciate the beauty of nature. Springs seem to sprout from everywhere. Trees have brilliant canopies and one derives the utmost satisfaction when you walk under the canopies over the soft natural carpets with so many different organisms to content with. Ferns, snails, tortoises and singing birds are the order of the day. Beautiful flowers and climbers knotting and throttling trees.

So we decided to visit one of the magnificent falls called the Bridal Veil Waterfall.
To get there we had to drive to the summit of the Chimanimani mountain called the SKYLINE for its close to the sky: with the narrow road snaking close to the edge of the cliff and adrenalin rushing. My heart missed several beats and I could feel a funny chilling sensation down my spine. My body was on fire and my sense of hearing deserted me with sweat breaking and stinging my eyes.It was my first time to negotiate such steep gradients and the car appeared to lose power probably because of high altitude despite the fact that I was using heavy gears. There was total silence in the car. I could hear some throbbing in my eardrums and my mouth went dry. I was scared even to talk to my wife. The mountains in the horizon and the sky seem to merge and dance in a heart-stopping way with the drifting mist exposing and closing the jagged edges of the mountain rock extending and dwarfing the horizon.

skyline world's view

skyline world's view


The scenic drive to the Waterfall

flora and fauna of the Chimanimani range


Bridal Veil Waterfall

Bridal Veil Waterfall


Bridal Veil Waterfall

Bridal Veil Waterfall


Bridal veil Waterfall

Bridal veil Waterfall


The Bridal Veil forest

The Bridal Veil forest


The Bridal Veil Waterfall melted all the apprehension away and restarted the cycle of adrenalin rush…
It was a captivating experience.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hemlock1981
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:58:32

    Beautiful pictures, and an excellent tale. I used your words to envision your surroundings. Thanks!

    Reply

  2. jameson goto
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 17:20:23

    Thanks Mac. The resolution of the pictures was lost when I compressed them. The trip was terrific though.

    Reply

  3. Chris Tome
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 19:23:51

    Nice nyaya and trip

    Reply

  4. gotojamesonblog
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:21:26

    Hi Chris. I really love back -to-nature trips and I hope to have several before I get to 125 years. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

