ORDER IN DISORDER?

Ordered Chaos

Many people seem to think that my desk is cluttered and disordered but I always see order in my junk. Did I say junk. To some people when they seem not to see someones’ order the value of the items on that person’s desk becomes junk.

Some think it is their duty to throw the stuff into dustbin or to rearrange the stuff for me. Unknowingly to them they are either destroying my important stuff or they are literally destroying my order and the degree of symmetry I tend to see.

Yes I have problems with filing my stuff but it does not mean I have problems with locating what I want. My brain seems to have the coordinates of things sorted out. I know how to get the stuff quickly if needed.

I hate people who always want to create their order on my desk.

For me order is in the mind. It is more than a physical arrangement of objects or items. If one were to picture the desk at a large-scale they would see the how everything will be arranged. Some people have the ability to see homogeneity even at a small or microscopic level. I do not claim to be one of them but I always make an effort to see order in things at any scale.

  • I believe it’s not tidying up that gives order
  • Neatness is not order
  • There is order in disorder or chaos
  • orderliness can be subjective like beauty it depends on the beholder

But lasting first impressions seem to be perceived on what people see as order or neatness but they say
do not judge a book by its cover.

And remember all that glitters is not gold.

My desk is full for I think every little piece of paper is important and must not be thrown away. Every little piece of paper is a like a bookmark

Maybe I belong to the old school and see things differently.

Do you see order in disorder?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hemlock1981
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 16:48:45

    If it is the “Old School” to which we belong, then so be it. I too am of the same mind set. Clutter is what other people call it, but if you ask me where anything is, I can locate it just fine. I think that the stigma of being dirty is attached to cluttered, or “disorder.”

    What they do not understand is exactly what you expressed; “Order is in” the ” mind.”

    Great points.

    Reply

  2. gotojamesonblog
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 19:07:28

    You make me feel I am not the only one who sees order in the “mind”. Thanks.
    Its great to know that we are a community.

    Reply

  3. jameson goto
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 21:18:27

    Great community!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

