Back to Nature

Part 1

My family and I decided to go on this back-to- nature holiday.

We wanted to be cut off from the hustle and bustle of the city life and experience the jungle life to the fullest. We thought by doing this we could be able to recharge ourselves to the fullest and rediscover and reinvent ourselves in the process. We also wanted to show my seven old son and two-year old daughter that they could do without some of the things that they were used to. No TV and computer games. They had to leave their toys behind and this was not easy to achieve but after a bit of “bullying” I manged to convince them

Destination-any-where

No one knew the destination except myself. My wife had called the trip: Destination-any-where.

My children and the Isuzu bakkie
I was using my old Isuzu 250D single cab truck, 1988 model. My son was not happy with the car that I chose for the trip. He did not like the fact that he had to sit in the back of the truck by himself for the car can only sit three people comfortably in the front. He had actually opted to say behind and spend the days when we were away, at a friend’s house. I refused. We agreed that we would not be taking any communication equipment with us for we wanted to get lost in our own company. So we left cellphones, cameras, i-pods and laptops behind.

The journey

The journey was 200km away and the my daughter slept for the better part of the journey. After about one hundred kilometres the tarmac ended and we had to follow a dirty bumpy road. My son who was seated at the back started complaining that I must stop the car and turn back. My wife had the same feeling as well and I had to lie to them that we were very close. My wife kept her eyes glued on the odometer and was always nagging me about how many more kilometres we had to cover.

The elephants

The elephant

The elephant

After we had traveled for about an hour we were luck to come across elephants crossing the road. I had to stop the car while the elephants crossed the road at their own slow carefree pace.

It was wonderful to see these beautiful giants.

My son had not seen a live elephant in flesh and he was overjoyed.

I regretted the fact that we had not carried a camera on us to capture these lovely moments and freeze time and memories forever.

My daughter suddenly awoke and was terrified by the sight of these giants.We finally proceeded and we were busy talking about how lucky we were to see an amazing herd carrying those big tusks.

The place

We chose a cheap grass thatched three bed-roomed cottage overlooking a lake about 200m from the water front. This chalet has a raised platform that projected from the building providing a safe place from marauding wild animals. Besides wild animals could get close to the building without noticing us. The platform gave way to an unlimited view of the night sky with its twinkling stars with visible constellations merging into each other.

In the cottage the only thing modern was a gas fridge to keep our supply for days fresh. The geyser worked on solar power and the geyser had a small volume tank for a family of four and we had to take a shower at different times if we wanted to have a hot shower which was hardly needed in hot afternoons. For cooking we had to use an old wood-fired stove. This was a new experience for my children.

The first night

There was already a fire made for us when we arrived. We ate take-away food that we brought with us. It was chilly and we sat around the big fire.
My daughter just sat near the fire with a wooden stick that she would use to poke the fire and got excited when red-hot sparks flew from the fire. The red sparks had a magical dance of their own. They would explode like a supernova blinding her momentarily and dying in a flash. She was spellbound. I watched her from a distance fascinated reminiscing my childhood days.

One flew onto her cotton dress and left a gaping hole and touched her skin and she cried momentarily, in pain.
The brother found it humorous and hilarious. He began to laugh.
She also joined in the laughter and my wife and I had to follow suit.
I reassured her not to worry.
She did not stop poking the fire and in the dimly lit building it was wonderful to see those beautiful sparks dance.
The flame had this wavy blue colour tinted with red and yellow with a crisp, wisp of white.
This all reminded me a long time ago when I was young and we used to play with fire and my mother would discourage us.
It was nice to see the kids enjoying themselves. I never thought they would enjoy themselves by just playing with the fire.

My daughter’s face was beaming with great joy! She was fired up!

Click here to visit Part 2 of the trip.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hemlock1981
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 21:58:33

    What an awesome adventure! I do remember the days I spent camping with my family with a great amount of fondness. I look forward to hearing the rest of the journey.

    Reply

  2. gotojamesonblog
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 22:24:36

    Hopefully you will be able to go back in time and rekindle the fire of your youth and relive your past in the present.

    Reply

  3. hemlock1981
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 22:45:10

    What a great sentiment. Thanks!

    Reply

  4. f chiganze
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 10:24:17

    reminds me of when i was growing up in the rural areas-enjoy the rest of your holiday

    Reply

  5. bet365
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 10:17:06

    Good day I was luck to look for your subject in bing
    your Topic is impressive
    I get a lot in your subject really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really impressive
    where can find it

    Reply

  6. CooperTreee
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 18:13:06

    Man, really want to know how can you be that smart, lol…great read, thanks.

    Reply

  7. mallorca reisen
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 10:21:53

    I’ve been following your blog since you started. You have made amazing progress. This site is an inspiration for all pursuing a long transition versus the big chop.

    – Rob

    Reply

    • gotojamesonblog
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:08:07

      Thanks Rob. It has been a long and winding road and through sheer determination and self analysis things are beginning to fall in place. Hope to get better with time though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

