The generation gap

As we get older I suppose we appear to be less cool and more ignorant according to our children or young adults. Yes we listen to different music and do things differently but I do not think we are stupid.

The majority of them are always trying to pull a fast one but the one thing that gives me joy is when I catch them trying. They think old people are always in the dark. Unfortunately us parents make it worse by refusing to move with the times. Technology is changing fast and so we must not be left behind. This is one of the reason we are thought to be ignorant: Not knowing the latest trends.

They get shocked when you tell them that you had to google your eyes when you were in the dark. Even if you StumbleUpon something you do not stop. You can have your de-li-ci-ou-us stuff so you do not have to worry about remembering . You can also tweet and meet at facebook if you feel like and you can diggit before you hotmail or reddit. If you do not like hotmailing you can webmail or simply yahoo or Gmail or you can just chatup.
Webhooking is even great. Some people like scripting it using Java or PHP.

The generation gap
What more; you visit bloggers on your weblog and Press-This on your wordpress machine. You can send cookies to your friends so you know what they are up to. But you can go incognito and clear your cache of trailing cookies. Widgetising around is even terrific. Try it. It’s all about having lots of MySpace when I listen to brilliant I-tunes. This may help us to close the generation gap that is widening on a daily basis. Do not think these are for the young only. Otherwise you would be shocked to find out your children have been up to something ……and that it took place right behind your back. Do not regret.

Do you think we need to move with Technology or we are just too old for that?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bet365
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 20:58:26

    Good day I was fortunate to search your theme in bing
    your topic is outstanding
    I obtain much in your topic really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really outstanding
    where can find it

    Reply

    • gotojamesonblog
      Nov 25, 2010 @ 15:57:02

      Hello there!.Thanks for the encouraging comment. You can find the theme in wordpress themes and its called twenty ten. You have the option to change or customize the header. Keep in touch. Have a good day.

      Reply

  2. -KafesoW-
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 09:08:33

    …Its interesting how you brought all the IT Jargons in one pot, how u prepared the delicious meal; the ideas and the lessons are great… The catoon is hilarious. Keep posting.

    Reply

  3. gotojamesonblog
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 09:27:29

    Thanks Kafeso for the comment. It is your comments that motivate me to improve. So keep commenting.

    Reply

  4. hemlock1981
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 18:20:17

    As a man who is on the extreme edge of pre-30 years old, I have often found it humorous when following my generation. The experts label me according to the year I was born, but do not take into account my upbringing. In that regard, I am no where near my fellow “generation y or z’ers.” I did not get a cell phone until my second semester in college. I do not have a Facebook account, to the disgust of my wife. And I do not see the sense in tweeting to everyone my every move (I mean, is going to the bathroom that much of an update?). But I do find it useful to stay up to date as to what technology has and how those things are used so I do not seem to out of date with my friends. I do blog (obviously), but I seem to find more of a different type of people in the blogging world than those on the “instant communication world.”

    I guess it may just come down to the fact I still enjoy a handwritten letter from my Grandmother every now and then.

    Thanks for the insight!

    Reply

  5. gotojamesonblog
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 20:24:27

    Oh hemlock1981 you may feel you belong to the old school but there is nothing wrong with that. Old traditions and values will stand the flow of time. A handwritten letter or an email from my grandmother has more value than a tweet. Thanks.

    Reply

    • hemlock1981
      Dec 02, 2010 @ 21:23:26

      Indeed. I do appreciate the finer things to which I have become accustomed, and several of the newer technologies. Although the only fear is being trapped without a place to belong. I guess that is where the balance comes into play. I can cling to my roots, yet every now and again, “have a good game of Hide and Seek.”

      Reply

  6. gotojamesonblog
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 21:32:43

    The way technology is moving is frightening. I am scared. Imagine where we are going to be in twenty years time from now if not six feet under. I would rather play a game of “hide and seek” with it too. I am not alone though.

    Reply

  7. missouri car insurance
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 06:22:57

    missouri car insurance This is my first visit to your blog. We are starting a new initiative in the same niche as this blog. Your blog provided us with important information to work on. You have done a admirable job. Maria – car insurance texas

    Reply

Leave a Reply

